Menno Simons Community School Educator Selected as PRSD's 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee

Menno Simons Community School Educator Selected as PRSD's 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee

March 28, 2014 - Peace River School Division (PRSD) is pleased to announce that Kristen Tjostheim, Menno-Simons Community School (MSS) educator, has been selected as PRSD’s 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education. 

“I feel humbled to have been nominated for this award” says Kristen. “My first year of teaching has been an incredible experience and I am grateful for all of those who have supported me - my family, fellow colleagues, my school-based mentor, our divisional Mentor Coach and the divisional mentorship program.”

Kristen teaches grades seven to nine mathematics and science and elementary music. In addition to her teaching assignments, Kristen leads the school’s creative writing club, co-leads the science fair club, assists with the breakfast program and is the school’s teacher representative on the School Council.
“The underlying strength that Kristen carries is her passion and determination that students will pursue their abilities and experience their greatest potential” says MSS Principal, Jan Stevenson. “She engages students and is a very dedicated, positive, constructive and helpful individual.”

Kristen graduated with first class honors in Mathematics from the University of Alberta and holds a Bachelor of Education from the Kings University College.

“Her understanding of mathematics and science is exemplary” says Stevenson. “It is amazing to see her deliver grade eight and nine science and mathematics curriculums at the same time so naturally and seamlessly. She engages students and is an enthusiastic staff member – she is very deserving of this nomination and we are pleased she chose to teach at Menno Simons Community School.”

Preparing and empowering students in a changing world is important to Kristen. “We are unable to tell students what the world will look like in ten years but we can teach them to stretch their brains and give them the tools they need to be the best they can be.”

“On behalf of Peace River School Division, we congratulate Kristen as Peace River School Division’s 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee” says PRSD Board Chair Darren Kuester. “We are very proud of Kristen for her success in her first year of teaching and for all she does to ensure students reach their full potential.”

Each year, the Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) honours outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province. Kristen will be celebrated at the ASBA Zone One Awards Banquet in the fall and the PRSD Staff Awards Gala on May 9, 2014.